District 8 Department of Colorado VFW
Photo Page

Click the images to enlarge.

Avery Doan, senior at Eagle Valley High School, was named the Post 2018-2019 Voice of Democracy (VOD) Scholarship 2nd place winner. Avery’s audio-essay speech on the theme “Why My Vote Matters” earned her a $200 check towards college. Avery was sponsored by the Minturn VFW Post 10721. Nearly 40,000 high school students from across the country entered to win a share of the $2 million in educational scholarships and incentives awarded. The VFW established the VOD in 1947 to provide students grades 9-12 the opportunity to express themselves in regards to democratic ideas and principles. VFW member, Dana Whelan with teacher, Hannah Shapiro, and EVHS Principal, Greg Doan presented the award. School counselors can contact Debbie Robbins, Veterans School Coordinator, at 970-926-4470 for entry applications in early October 2019 for our next contest.